My newest venture: The search for a coffee alternative!

Yes, you read that title correctly.  For those of you who know me well, you know that the bane of my morning existence for about the last give or take, 4 years, has been two words: Dunkin’ Donut’s (no shame).  As I sit here drinking my usual morning Dunkin’ iced coffee, I’m reflecting on the realizations that I’ve been having about the amount of time and money I spend per week obtaining my best friend Dunkin’, and the pros and cons of me doing so.  Primarily the change in mood that I experience when my morning coffee wears off, and I come down from my first caffeine high of the day, resulting in me needing the next cup. Believe me, you don’t want to cross me in between cups of coffee during the day–yikes, sorry to my friends who know this!

After recently having to up my coffee/caffeine intake to at least  24oz a day, which is hundreds of mg of caffeine for my petite 5ft, 95lb body to consume, I have decided that it is time to consider some alternatives to coffee of which I can integrate into my diet that will not only benefit my body, but my mind and mood as well.  A person of my size should not have to rely on several cups of coffee a day to function, and quite frankly I’m nervous that if I continue my coffee intake and pattern as it is now, I will be needing 4-5 cups of coffee simply to function on a day to day basis before I even finish my first four years of college, a frightening projection, and definitely not a healthy one.  Not to mention an irregular heart beat condition which I already possess, called Atrial fibrillation, which calls for my body to consume slim to no caffeine per day in order for my heart to beat at an appropriate rate and pattern. Oops, sorry Mom!!

I have been researching/searching for a healthy, beneficial coffee alternative that will be worth my time, money, and of course taste buds.   One that will give me the the boost I need in order to get me going in the morning, and also keep me going throughout the day–through work, class, workouts, socializing, etc. I want to try to cut my coffee intake at least in half to start, and see where I can go from there.

I have recently come across a popular and award winning alternative called “Ayurvedic Roast”.  This coffee alternative was created by a man much like myself, who was seeking an alternative to coffee for his coffee-addicted self as well as his friends. “Ayurvedic Roast is made with all organic ingredients, starting with fresh roasted barley, chicory root, and rye.” A unique herbal combination is included in the roast as well. The roast is said to taste extremely similar to coffee, and many say even better than coffee itself.  I’ve decided to try this alternative due to the numerous positive reviews and awards which it has received, as well as the positive side effects others who are heavily dependent on coffee have experienced.

Image

The Health benefits to the herbs in Ayurvedic Roast are numerous:

  • Ashwagandha: Known as the the “ginseng of India”, is an incredible herb that promotes strength and stability in ones body, and is also an anti-oxidant (a compound that can reduce chances of disease). It builds immunity and strength, and also calms the mind and body.
  • Shatavari: Counterbalances Ashwagandha’s heating quality with its cooling effect, and augments their mutually beneficial effects on the body.
  • Brahmi: “Commonly used in Ayurveda to lessen mental strain and worry, it also helps increase intelligence and clarity”. In combination with the other 2 herbs, it has a soothing effect on the mind, while maintaining alertness.

All the above seems like enough to convince me to go grab some of this Ayurvedic Roast, and I’m really excited to give it a try.  I’m curious to see what kind of effects it will have on my mood and energy level, as well as sleep patterns.  This may very well be the hardest change to my daily routine that I have attempted thus far, but I’m always up for a challenge! I will definitely keep you all posted with the results of this endeavor.

 

Sources:

http://ayurvedicroast.com/what-is-a-coffee-substitute.php

http://www.nyaproductreviewer.com/2011/04/organic-herbal-coffee-by-ayurvedic.html

One thought on “My newest venture: The search for a coffee alternative!

  1. Also, I’ve found this summer that if you spend about a week going to bed early (do it during the week…and by early i mean like 10 or 11) and wake up naturally, and just start your day with a lot of water and a good breakfast, you can wean yourself off of coffee pretty quickly. i haven’t had coffee since like the first week of summer, and if i need a pick me up, i get chai tea or english breakfast tea or green tea!

Leave a Reply

